
                      Tanks and Emergency Response Section Fact Sheet
                          Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
                          520 Lafayette Road North
                          Saint Paul, Minnesota  55155-4194

This document can be made available in other formats, including Braille, large print and audio tape.
TTY users call (612) 282-5332 or (800) 657-3864 (Voice/TTY).

Printed on recycled paper containing at least 10 percent fibers from paper recycled by consumers.

June 1998
revised

Loan and Reimbursement Options Available for the Removal,
Replacement or Upgrade of Underground Storage Tanks

New or existing regulated underground storage tank systems installed before 1988 must be upgraded with spill, overfill and
corrosion protection by December 22, 1998.  This fact sheet will describe the upgrade requirements and loan and
reimbursement options for underground storage tank (UST) systems made available by the Minnesota Legislature.

Requirements:  All regulated USTs will need to have
spill, overfill and corrosion protection.  Also, all
regulated USTs should be monitored for leak detection.
You need to choose from the following options before the
1998 deadline for your existing USTs.  You can:
• add spill, overfill, and corrosion protection;
• close the existing UST; or
• replace the closed existing UST with a new UST that

meets or exceeds the new federal regulations.

Loans:  Up to $10,000 is available for tank
replacements or upgrades in the form of loans.  Small
gasoline retailers that dispensed less than 500,000 gallons
of motor fuel during the previous year may be eligible.
An eligible applicant can own only one facility where
motor fuel is dispensed.  To obtain the loan, the eligible
applicant must demonstrate the ability to repay the loan.
The terms of the loan include three percent interest per
year for a maximum of seven years.  Replacement or
upgrade activities must take place between January 1,
1997, and January 1, 2000.

Please call Bob Ahlin of the Department of Trade and
Economic Development (DTED) Underground Petroleum
Tank Replacement Loan Program at (612) 296-6858 with
questions or for a loan application.

Reimbursements:
For those facilities removing tanks, money is available for
removal of USTs until January 1, 2000.  Up to 90
percent reimbursement for tank removal, closure in place,
backfill, resurfacing, and utility service restoration is
available to applicants meeting certain criteria, whether
or not a release has occurred at the site.

To qualify as a small gasoline retailer, an applicant must:
• own only one location in Minnesota and no locations

in any other state where motor fuel was dispensed
into motor vehicles, watercraft, or aircraft;

 
• own or operate a tank at that location;
• have dispensed less than 500,000 gallons of motor

fuel (during the last year in which petroleum products
were dispensed to the public at that location); and

• have removed tanks on or after January 1, 1996.

An applicant may qualify as a small gasoline retailer if:
• the applicant owns only one location in Minnesota or

any other state where motor fuel was dispensed into
motor vehicles, watercraft, or aircraft but who did
not dispense motor fuel at that location;

• the previous tank owner or operator at the location
was a small gasoline retailer that dispensed less than
500,000 gallons of motor fuel (during the last year in
which petroleum products were dispensed to the
public at that location); and

• the applicant acquired legal or equitable title to the
property after January 1, 1996.

Up to 95 percent reimbursement is available to small
gasoline retailers who dispensed less than 250,000
gallons of motor fuel (during the most recent calendar
year that petroleum products were dispensed at that
location).

Up to 90 percent reimbursement for tank removal is
available to “small business owners” if the person:
• has no more than $250,000 per year in sales;
• owns only one facility where motor fuel was

dispensed to the public into motor vehicles;
• did not dispense motor fuel at that location;
• owns tanks never registered with the state; and
• removed the tanks on or after January 1, 1998.

This part of the law expires January 1, 2000.  If you have
questions regarding the reimbursement program, please
call Petrofund at the Minnesota Department of Commerce
at (612) 297-1119.


